My first meeting with Irom Sharmila Chanu

Posted: September 23, 2010 in Irom Sharmila Chanu
Tags: , ,

On 2nd September 2010, I impatiently waited outside the guarded corridor of JN Hospital security ward, Imphal, Manipur while the security guards informed Irom Sharmila Chanu about her visitor.

Being a feng shui consultant by profession I am intrigued by people’s lives, in other words their natal charts. In July 2010, I read the news clipping about Irom Sharmila Chanu, what caught my attention was that Sharmila (38yrs) was an individual social activist on a hunger strike for last 10 years, she was kept in solitary confinement, she was forcefully nasal fed by the government and her only demand was to repeal AFSPA.  I was curious, on the spur I started research on Sharmila this led me to her brother, Singhjit, an extremely helpful man, over few telephonic conversations he told me about Sharmila’s life story. In August 2010 I wrote a bazi analysis of her natal chart and posted it on my website. Somehow I was not happy, I wanted to do more, there was a voice inside me urging me to go and meet her, to know her.

The security guard showed me to Sharmila’s room, I was greeted with a weak smile from a frail woman, perched on her bed, covered in a green shawl, a tube shoved in her nostril hanging in front of her dry cracked lips, eyes sparkling with hope, life and passion.  Through my research I knew her bones were brittle and her vital organs had shrivelled, I did not expect her to speak much, I was wrong. Sharmila is no ordinary lady she is born of a different mettle.

Irom Sharmila Chanu in JN hospital, Imphal, Manipur taken on 2nd September 2010

Comments
  1. Avinandan says:

    Solid determination is what keeps this lady going. Hope the controversial Armed Forces Act is repealed in Sharmila’s lifetime.

Leave a Reply

